Insurance Insanity

So I go to the drugstore today to pick up medication and the pharmacy technician tells me that my insurance indicated this is the last time the drugstore will be able to fill my Rx’s because I have to order by mail.  I haven’t called my insurance company yet, but plan on it tomorrow.  Are we now at the point that payers are trying to bulk up the bottom line to the point that they’re making deals with third party vendors who manage Rx’s?  I don’t like being told what to do or how to do it, especially by an insurance company to whom I’ve been paying premiums for over 20 years. 

I was told it may take a month for this all to become effective, so that I need to get with my docs and have them write 90-day scripts.  Well this is not a very good plan as the insurance company has already bumped me off one hormone pill, so now I am taking a new one and I am still in that adjustment phase, WHICH MEANS the dosage is almost guaranteed to CHANGE within 90 days.  This is waaaaaaay too Big Brother for me, but I will save my outrage until I get some solid answers tomorrow.

See you then! 😉

 

About Julie

My credentials include a Master's Certificate in Health Informatics, a CHPSE certification (Certified HIPAA Privacy and Security Expert), and certification in HL7 (Health Level 7). The multidisciplinary approach to equipping myself to enter the healthcare IT sector is consistent with my professional background in sales, management, healthcare, and recruiting. I also have a BA in Organizational Psychology from the University of Michigan, which as been invaluable in my professional life for exceling in sales, change management, and laying down an excellent foundation from which I was able to build effective communication skills with professionals of all levels.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Movies, Books and Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sure enough, talked to an insurance customer service rep and all maintence Rx’s are to be managed via mail order. When I commented about the lack of notification of this, the rep told me it’s in the 51-page guide. Shame on me for not making that holiday reading! Sheesh!

Leave a Reply

